Bookish Musings

2018: A Year in Books

I can’t quite believe it is the last day of 2018 – how quickly the time has flown by! I’ve had a very busy year filled with ups and downs, but I’ve always tried to make time for reading as a calm solace within the storm of life (although I’ve neglected writing up reviews for this blog, I’m aiming to be better next year!). My reading year has been a mixture of books I loved and devoured with a greedy hunger; books that didn’t thrill me or grip me as much; re-reads of beloved books and familiar worlds; and proof copies of fantastic books making their way into the world this year and next, an opportunity I am forever grateful for. My commutes to work, long journeys and mundane tasks have been accompanied by some wonderful audiobooks, allowing me to get lost in vibrant, rich worlds conjured up by engaging narrators, and never lose any reading time even when I’m on the move. I’ve bought books, borrowed books from family and friends, received precious proof copies and frequented my local library. Some of my most treasured interactions have been prompted by books and reading – I’ve loved discussing books with my friends, family, colleagues and the wonderful people of the book community on social media and blogs throughout the year, particularly when my blog or recommendation has inspired someone to fall in love with a book. Thank you all for listening to me (and allowing me to ramble on about books), for engaging with me on social media and for sharing and commenting on my blog. Readers are the most wonderful people and I feel privileged to be part of this community.

I thought I’d finish off the year by choosing a few of my favourite reads, although this has been no easy task! Looking back at my Goodreads account, I have picked up quite a range of books this year and been introduced to new genres, authors and writing styles, a personal achievement for me as I tend to stick to the same, familiar reads. I thought I’d present my favourites with some ‘best category’ awards of my own making.
Most Chilling Read of 2018

Bird Box by Josh Malerman – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was one of my last reads of this year, and what a thrilling way to end 2018. I was inspired to pick up the novel by a number of recommendations from friends, as well as the release of the Netflix film, and I can understand why it has had such an impact on its readers. Bird Box opens as Malorie considers the toughest decision of her life – she must leave the house she has lived in for four years in the hope of finding a safe place for herself and her two young children. Her children have never seen the outside as it is now the most dangerous place to be. Mysterious creatures stalk the earth beyond the four walls of Malorie’s house, and if they are seen, they cause the viewer to instantly descend into a violent, murderous and self-destructive insanity. Malorie has witnessed many loved ones suffer at the hands of these creatures, but keeps herself safe from their cruel influence by shrouding her windows and barely venturing outside. Things have changed, though, and the threat has increased. Malorie must transport herself and her children to a place she hopes promises safety, but with a huge barrier – they must all be blindfolded for the entire journey. Bird Box is thoroughly gripping; despite reading it at a festive and joyful time of year, it chilled me to the bone and infected my dreams. One of the scariest books I’ve ever read, made ever more terrifying by its sparseness and mystery.

Most Uplifting Read of 2018

The Lido by Libby Page – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Lido was my most uplifting read of the year. I was lucky enough to receive a proof copy of Libby Page’s extraordinary debut and devoured it. Kate is a young woman who appears to those around her to be living her dream life as a journalist in London. However, she is living with a difficult secret – riddled with anxiety and crippling panic attacks, and experiencing a deep loneliness, Kate is finding it hard to cope. She desperately needs something to hold on to and pull her through this darkness. Rosemary is twenty years Kate’s senior and swims in her local outdoor swimming pool, the lido, every day. The lido is her treasured place as it holds memories from her childhood, and of her beloved husband George, who passed away recently. When the lido comes under threat from developers, Kate is assigned to cover the story. At first she is unimpressed, but after meeting Rosemary, she discovers the joy of swimming and the power of the lido, which brings people together and is a sanctuary at the heart of the bustling city, and a space to retreat from life’s challenges. Soon Kate is helping Rosemary lead a campaign to save the lido; but regardless of the outcome, both their lives have been changed forever. The Lido is an incredible book, powerful in its simplicity. It is poignant, heartwarming and heartbreaking in equal measure, and with a touching and resilient message at its heart. In the uncertain times we live in, with the darkness of the news and the bleak future we fear on the horizon, Libby Page encourages us to connect with one another and rediscover the power of friendship, love and passion for a cause. She reminds us that unity doesn’t have to be on a global scale; the smallest moments matter and can make a huge difference.

Most Engaging Read of 2018

The House on Half Moon Street by Alex Reeve – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book transcended all of my expectations and quickly shot to the top of my favourite reads of this year. Another debut which I received as a proof copy, The House on Half Moon Street follows Leo Stanhope, a coroner’s assistant, who becomes embroiled in a murder investigation which leads him to the darkest depths of Victorian society (yes, another book set in the Victorian period, I definitely have a ‘type’). Leo himself has a secret, one that he struggles to come to terms with and that has impacted on his whole life, his relationships and his aspirations. Facing suspicion at every turn and struggling to find an anchor in the uncertainty of his life, Leo faces a journey filled with desperation, danger and unsavoury characters. His life, and his identity, is at stake, but he cannot rest until he discovers who has committed this terrible crime. Alex Reeve creates a vivid portrait of Victorian London, complete with a cast of vibrant characters, each with their own secrets. Both a clever murder mystery and an exploration of identity, gender and society that reaches further than the novel’s historical setting, The House on Half Moon Street captures the heart and imagination of every reader. And the good news is that Alex Reeve is currently working on the next instalment!
Most Well-Known Read of 2018

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Probably my most well-known read of 2018 in terms of its popularity, I had to include the lovely Eleanor Oliphant in my round up of this year’s favourites. Gail Honeyman’s debut novel (yes, another debut – I’m in awe of all these fantastic authors!) took the literary world by storm earlier this year as it is both heartwarming and sharply perceptive, raising awareness of an issue not commonly thought of or recognised – that of loneliness amongst young people. Eleanor lives a life driven by routine, and is perfectly comfortable with that fact. However, behind her firmly closed door she is struggling with crippling loneliness and teetering on the edge of a deep depression, caused by a painful secret from from her childhood that she cannot face. She is aware that she exists on the edge of society, friendless and ridiculed by her colleagues. Normally, Eleanor is not phased by this (resulting in a number of humorous, acerbic moments throughout the novel), but when she encounters a handsome rock star at a concert, she embarks on a mission to fit in in order to catch his eye. Little does she know that her life is about to take a different path, and it’s the people she meets along the way that will mean more to her than she could ever realise. Eleanor Oliphant is bittersweet, powerful and deeply moving. Eleanor herself is incredibly engaging, endearing despite her prickliness, and represents something that is too often overlooked. She is honest, loyal and yet vulnerable, pushed to the edge of society because of her differences. Gail Honeyman encourages her readers to look beyond the surface and to accept ourselves and others for who we truly are. She also urges us to recognise that small acts of kindness can have a powerful effect, something I hope to take with me into the new year. Eleanor Oliphant is a novel completely deserving of all the press, awards and recognition it has achieved.
Book of the Year

The Corset by Laura Purcell – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Corset was my favourite read of this year. Deliciously dark and gothic, it left me desiring more and wondering about the fate of the characters for a long time after I’d finished reading. The novel follows Dorothea Truelove, a do-gooder with a secret at her heart, as she undertakes charitable work visiting female prisoners. She attaches herself to Ruth Butterham, a very young woman facing the death penalty after being accused of murdering her mistress. Dorothea cannot let Ruth’s case rest and intends to prove her innocence, but as Ruth opens up and begins to talk to Dorothea, her chilling story is revealed. Ruth has experienced the darkest depths of poverty, loss and desperation, forcing her into a cruel life as a seamstress, but that is not the worst of it. She believes that her needle has power; that she has poured all her bitterness and resentment into her beautiful embroidery, and that her creations have killed… The Corset is Victorian gothic perfection. It is rich in period detail, delving into the darkness of poverty and desperation, with a hint of spine-tingling supernatural. Laura Purcell weaves a novel that is pitch perfect and should be held in high esteem alongside those of Margaret Atwood and Sarah Waters – but Purcell is unique, her voice in gothic fiction is refreshing and fulfilling. I loved this novel and will definitely be picking it up again next autumn as the nights draw in and I crave a hint of darkness.

Honourable mentions – a few books that I also loved and would highly recommend:

The Hunger by Alma Katsu – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Lullaby by Leila Slimani – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
The Language of Kindness: A Nurse’s Story by Christie Watson – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Bitter Orange by Claire Fuller – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
The Water Cure by Sophie Mackintosh – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Three Things About Elsie by Joanna Cannon – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Melmoth by Sarah Perry – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I’m very excited to see what 2019 brings in terms of reading! I’m ending the year on a high with The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton, which was published earlier this year, a mind-bending book that whips along at impressive speed. I’m thoroughly enjoying it, but I think I’m going to need to create a mind map so I can track all of the characters and events!

I wish you all a very happy new year, but most of all, lots of happy reading in 2019!

3 thoughts on “2018: A Year in Books

    1. Yes, it was very good, although a little mind-bending so I would recommend reading it at a time when you can concentrate fully on it! Lots of twists and turns, and very pacy. Let me know what you think if you decide to read it!

      Like

Leave a comment